• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Favorite Authors

Page history last edited by Marilyn McDonald 8 years, 8 months ago

Favorite Authors

 

Think about Authors You Like Authors (listed alphabetically)

 

Warning!!  When you click on these sites you will leave the school library’s website.  Be sure to let your parents or teacher know where you are going on the Internet!

 

Alma Flor Ada (http://almaflorada.com/) award-winning author of hundred of poetry, picture books, novels, and nonfiction books that offer multicultural perspectives for all children

 

Frank Asch (http://www.frankasch.com/home.html) has written stories about Moonbear and more recently, Mr. Asch has returned to writing longer books for young readers with a new series entitled Class Pets. The series has four books, the first of which is entitled The Ghost of P.S. 42

 

Tedd Arnold (http://www.teddarnoldbooks.com/) is the author and illustrator of The Fly Guy books.
 

Jim Arnosky (http://www.jimarnosky.com/) is the author of several non-fiction books about animals and he has some wonderful coloring pages of your favorite animals!

 

Avi (http://www.avi-writer.com/) award-winning author of over 60 books for children, including The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, Nothing but the Truth, Crispin, and Poppy

 

Lynne Reid Banks (http://www.lynnereidbanks.com/) best-selling author of books for children (and adults), including The Indian in the Cupboard

 

Jan & Stan Berenstain – See Berenstain Bear Country below in “Series”

 

Jan Brett (http://janbrett.com/) one of the nation’s best-known author illustrators, website includes book descriptions, and over 4,800 free coloring, video, and activities pages

 

Norman Bridwell (http://search.comcast.net/?cat=Web&con=homepage&q=norman+bridwell) “He’s Red and He’s Warm” is how Norman Bridwell describes his famous creation, Clifford the Big Red Dog

 

Marc Brown (http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-brown-marc.asp) A bedtime story about an aardvark that hated his nose became the popular Arthur series

Also see information about the Marc Brown Studios (http://marcbrownstudios.com/)

 

Betsy Byars (http://www.betsybyars.com/) award-winning author (and pilot) of over 60 books for young people, include the Newbery Medal winner The Summer of the Swans

 

Eric Carle (http://www.eric-carle.com/home.html) well-known collage artist author of over 40 books including Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do You See? and The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Also see The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art (http://www.carlemuseum.org/)

 

Nancy Carlson (http://www.nancycarlson.com/) knew what she wanted to do when she was in kindergarten – make pictures and tell stories! This children’s book author and illustrator has published more than 60 books.

 

Beverly Cleary (http://www.beverlycleary.com/) author of books, including the popular Ramona Quimby and Ralph S. Mouse series and the Newbery Medal winner Dear Mr. Henshaw

 

Andrew Clements (http://www.andrewclements.com/) started writing in a shed in his backyard, because it was a quiet place, after his first book Frindle became popular

 

Sharon Creech (http://www.sharoncreech.com/) author of over 15 picture books and novels for children, including the Newbery Medal winner Walk Two Moons

 

Doreen Cronin  (http://www.doreencronin.com/www.doreencronin.com) author of Diary of a Worm and many other picture books for children!  Doreen is famous today because her first grade teacher told  her she was a writer!

 

Roald Dahl (http://www.roalddahl.com/) author of the scrumdiddlyumptious children’s books Matilda, James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and many more

 

Tomie dePaola (http://www.tomie.com/main.html) author and/or illustrator of over 200 books – including the Strega Nona, 26 Fairmount Avenue, and Barkersseries – and winner of the Caldecott and Newbery Honor Awards

 

Ed Emberley (http://www.edemberley.com/pages/main.aspx) author and illustrator of approximately 80 books for children, including 13 drawing books and 7 picture books: one of which is the Caldecott Medal winning book Drummer Hoff

 

Mem Fox (http://www.memfox.com/welcome.html) Australia’s most highly regarded picture book author has written over 35 picture books for children and 5 nonfiction books for adults

 

Jean Craighead George (http://www.jeancraigheadgeorge.com/) started writing in 3rd grade and hasn’t stopped yet – even after writing 100 books, including the Newbery Medal winner Julie of the Wolves and the Newbery Honor Book My Side of the Mountain

 

Cornelia Funke (http://www.corneliafunkefans.com/en) is the author and illustrator of several children's books including the Black-Eyed Susan nominee Igraine the Brave.  She is also the writer of the Inkworld Trilogy and When Santa Fell to Earth.

 

Dan Gutman (http://www.dangutman.com/) wrote screenplays, magazine articles, and sports books for adults, before writing fiction and nonfiction books for children, including the Baseball Card Adventures, My Weird School, and Million Dollar series

 

Virginia Hamilton (http://www.virginiahamilton.com/) wrote and published 41 books in different genres and won every major award in youth literature

 

Brian Jacques (http://www.redwall.org/) English author of the award-winning Redwall series

 

William Joyce (http://www.williamjoyce.com/) wrote his first book in 2nd grade and has used his imagination ever since to create people, places, and adventures – like George Shrinks, Rolie Polie Olie, and the Robinsons

 

Loreen Leedy (http://www.loreenleedy.com/) is an author and an illustrator who has written many exciting math books such as Fraction Action and The Great Graph Contest!  Check out some of her books in the Math Section.

 

Madeleine L’Engle (http://www.madeleinelengle.com/) author of over 60 books, including the Newbery Medal winner A Wrinkle in Time

 

Gail Carson Levine (http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-levine-gail-carson.asp) takes ideas from myths and fairy tales for her books, including Ella Enchanted, a Newbery Honor Book

 

Elizabeth Levy (http://elizabethlevy.com/) has written fiction and nonfiction books for children and young adults over 30 years. The Something Queer and Invisible, Inc. mysteries are just two of her series.

 

C.S. Lewis (http://www.cslewis.com/)

 

Leo Lionni (http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/lionni/)

 

Lois Lowry (http://www.loislowry.com/index.html)

 

Mercer Mayer (http://www.littlecritter.com/about_mercer_mayer.html)

 

Megan McDonald(http://www.meganmcdonald.net/) is the author of the Judy Moody series.

 

Stuart J. Murphy (http://www.stuartjmurphy.com/stuart/fast_facts.php) author of the MathStart series

 

Mary Pope Osborne (http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/magictreehouse/author.html)

 

Barbara Park (http://www.randomhouse.com/kids/junieb/author/author.html)

 

Katherine Paterson (http://www.terabithia.com/)

 

Gary Paulsen (http://www.randomhouse.com/features/garypaulsen/)

 

Bill Peet (http://www.billpeet.net/)

 

Dav Pilkey (http://www.pilkey.com/)

 

Patricia Polacco (http://www.patriciapolacco.com/)

 

Margret & H.A. Rey

Margret Rey (http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-rey-margret.asp) and

H.A. Rey (http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-rey-ha.asp)

Also see The Margret and H.A. Rey Center and Curious George Cottage (http://thereycenter.org/Welcome.html)

 

Rick Riordan (http://www.rickriordan.com/)

 

J.K. Rowling (http://www.jkrowling.com/)

 

Ron Roy (http://www.ronroy.com/)

 

Cynthia Rylant (http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-rylant-cynthia.asp)

 

Louis Sachar (http://www.louissachar.com/)

 

Jon Scieszka (http://www.kidsreads.com/authors/au-scieszka-jon.asp)

Also see his website Guys Read (http://www.guysread.com/)

 

Dr. Seuss (http://www.catinthehat.org/history.htm) Theodor Seuss Geisel

Also see Seussville (http://www.seussville.com/lb/home.html)

 

Shel Silverstein (http://www.shelsilverstein.com/indexSite.html) explore fun and unusual poetry

 

Seymour Simon (http://www.seymoursimon.com/)

 

Greg Tang (http://www.gregtang.com/)

 

J.R.R. Tolkien (http://www.tolkiensociety.org/tolkien/)

 

Chris Van Allsburg (http://www.chrisvanallsburg.com/flash.html)

 

Gertrude Chandler Warner (http://www.kidsreads.com/series/series-boxcar-author.asp)

 

Rosemary Wells (http://www.rosemarywells.com/)

 

Laura Ingalls Wilder (http://www.notablebiographies.com/We-Z/Wilder-Laura-Ingalls.html)

 

Mo Willems (http://www.mowillems.com/ has written and illustrated some of your favorite books including Black-Eyed Susan Nominee  Naked Mole Rat Gets Dressed and also the stories about your favorite character - Pigeon!

 

Jane Yolen (http://janeyolen.com/)

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.